mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-04-23, 4:57 p.m.:
Look at that. Just when I thought I couldn't get crazier.

WARNING! EYE SQUICKINESS AHEAD!

I had to go to the eye doctor today, which is a very traumatic experience for me. Want to know why? No? Too bad. About five years ago I was diagnosed with some sort of degenerative eyelid problem and I had to have three surguries to correct it. Now two of those surgeries were your normal, knock-her-ass-out, run of the mill surgeries (which still suck SO HARD when your eyelid is involved). But the last one? I had to be awake. AWAKE. Awake to watch (and feel) them give me 13 shots around my eye. Awake to watch the surgeons huddled over me, slicing me open. Awake to feel the stiches go in. Awake to hear the things surgeons talk about whilst carving a patient up (music and weekend plans. Oh, and eyes).

It was terrible.

EYE SQUICK OVER.

So now I really don't like to have my eyes messed with. Fortunately, I have been blessed with better than 20/20 vision all of my life, and I never had to do the eye doctor thing too much. Until now. Three weeks ago I noticed that I could see everything just fine, but I had this weird sensation of knowing that my eyes were having to work a lot harder to focus. So I didn't have blurry vision or anything, but by the end of the day I had a headache and was exhausted. Turns out I still have 20/20 vision, but I'm farsighted. Huh? My doctor (who looks kind of like John Turturro if your eyes are dilated) explained it all very well, but I wasn't so much paying attention.

So, I am getting glasses, and they are super cute. I'll take pictures when I get them Monday.

In my dilated-daze, I decided to stop by our local pet co-op on my way home. I needed canned dog food for our incredibly spoiled animal child. I couldn't read the labels and had to have the lady working there help me, which made me feel kind of lame. Then, I went crazy. The crazy I mentioned waaay at the top of this entry. I saw kittens. Little, sweet, tiny orphaned kittens, and I said, "I want one of those." Next thing you know shop-lady is dashing about getting the necessary accoutrements that one needs to have a cat (I still couldn't see so this was much easier). And now we have a kitten! He is very small and his name is Owen. He responds best if you say it like Momma from "Throw Momma From The Train". UUUh-win!

He and Busta Rhymes are big pals already, and both making my monkey crazy. At any given time, they are: 1) chasing eachother and knocking things down, 2) eating eachothers food, 3) licking eachothers ears, 4) simultaneously trying to get in my lap. Ah, bliss.

Adorable pet pictures to come, once I figure out how to do that. I need to go lay down.

(mayapple still can't see quite right)

last - next