mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-04-24, 3:43 p.m.:
I'm the boss, just like Tony Danza

This week I have been really tied up with doing Performance Reviews for four of my employees. The first three have been really fun, because I get to take them out to lunch on the Corporate Card and tell them how great they are. I also get to give them an extra $.50 an hour! I love being the awesome boss!

However, the last one, which happens tomorrow, is going to suck. First off, she's not available for lunch, so we are going to Cracker Barrel for breakfast. Effing Cracker Barrel gives me a bellyache every time. Secondly, it isn't going to be a glowing review and she will not be getting a raise. Instead I get to tell her that she is close to being let go. ARGH. I hate this part. Most of the time being The Manager is OK, but I can't stand the disciplinary stuff. The previous manager left me with all of these problems, and I've already had to fire three people in the six months I've had the job. When your team is only 6 people, that's a lot of firings. So, semi-gross breakfast, and an uncomfortable lecture. How fun.

The thing is, her job is sooo easy. It's ridiculous that after 9 months she hasn't gotten the hang of it. I mean, it's a promotions job, they just give stuff away. Easy! And she is a sweetheart, but so very dumb that it hurts to talk to her. Her spelling and grammar are atrocious. She spells "scared" scarred. Also, "scary" is "scarry". Every. Time. There are other, worse examples but I can't think of them right now because aparrently I didn't eat brain food for lunch. I ate popcorn?

Whatever. At least I get to take all of my employees Go-Kart racing on Sunday! At the Nascar cafe, no less! Hot damn, I am ready for some good, clean Redneck fun. Except it probably won't be clean. But there will be beer, and maybe nachos. Yay for "team building"! I just found out I get $100/month for "team building activities", and I am ridiculously excited. For serious.

UH-win! Bring your momma a Pepsi!

C. walked in last night to see me standing right infront of the front door, holding the kitten guiltily (is that a word? I looked guilty). He almost dropped his guitar and exclaimed "kitty!?" with a big smile. He couldn't believe that I just went out and got a kitten. Very impetuous of me, and not my style at all. I explained that I was probably under the influence of the Opium-laced drops my Turturro-esque Eye Doctor administered, but yeah, we have a kitty now.

Sweet, tiny Owen. You are too cute. The way you jump on Busta Rhymes when he isn't looking is hilarious. Thank you, thank you, thank you for getting along with him so well.

The new addition has settled in quite nicely in the 24 hours he has lived here. Buster is quite taken with him, and as soon as I figure out how to upload pictures, they'll be up (OK, amblus? Stop yelling!). He is tiny and fuzzy and bites my knuckles while I'm typing. Fantastic. I added in a preview picture, more tomorrow!

Ummmm?

Wow. Boring AND self-involved. I think this diary just hit an all time low. Considering there are only two other entries to compare it to, I guess that's not too bad. Tonight I am making a Ginger Chicken with Sesame Farfalle, which I got from Real Simple magazine. And probably a salad of sorts. Yum. I spent $100 at the fancy grocery store today, and I am in shock. It's been so long since I planned ahead for any sort of meal, I just really hope that the veggies won't go bad before I use them. I bought four different kinds of fresh herbs. They are doomed.

last - next