mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-05-16, 1:48 p.m.:
Things I enjoy:

� Wolverine is on my Diet Dr Pepper can. Rowr.

� It�s not bloody raining right now.

� It�s FRIDAY!

� C. put up the shelves in the kitchen that have been leaning against the wall for three months now.

� I�ve pretty much finished my work for the day, and it�s only 1:30

� Our landlords are completely awesome.

I feel the need to go into the landlord thing a little further. Because they are seriously the best people, ever. We rent our house for $750 a month, which isn�t bad at all considering my sister rents the basement from us. It comes out to $250/person. Completely reasonable. The only problem is, my sister just moved out. While her bedroom itself was nice and dry, she hated that the rest of the basement (which she walked through to get to her room) was always damp and slightly foul-smelling. So she moved out, which is understandable, but left C. and I in a bit of a bind, financially. He couldn�t afford to pay more rent, and I couldn�t swing paying $500/month. We really didn�t want to get another roommate, and it would have been tough to convince someone to live in the damp, depressing basement, anyway.

So, we knew that we either had to convince our landlords to lower our rent, or start looking for a new place to live. And we really love our house, so that was our last option. Well, we went and talked to them, and amazingly enough, they said we can pay $500/month for a few months while they try and fix the basement. What�s more, they said that when they decide to sell the house, they wouldn�t entertain any offers until after they had given us a chance. Sweet! It�s the cutest house, in the coolest neighborhood. I couldn�t imagine living anywhere else right now. I�ll have to put up some pictures after the weekend.

Weekend!

I am really excited about the weekend, for no real reason. I mean, we aren�t doing anything completely out of the ordinary, or anything. Tonight we are making turkey tacos, and then going out to see A Mighty Wind. I love anything that Christopher Guest touches, so it should be great.

Tomorrow we�re putting up the fencing in the back yard. I know, it�s really all too exciting, isn�t it. Tomorrow night C.�s band is playing downtown, so I will dutifully attend. They learned Sharp Dressed Man and I�m more than a little stoked. Me=dork. But I�m OK with that.

Sunday is looking like pancakes, Bloody Marys, and the newspaper. Hopefully it will be sunny and we can eat on our porch. Bliss.

Adios, bambinos!

last - next