mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-05-19, 1:41 p.m.:
What happens when I�m bored, but tired?

I take surveys and quizzes from other people�s diaries. I don�t even remember where this one came from, I�ve had it saved in Word for a day such as today.

1. About You

(a) Who are you? Marianne, AKA mayapple, AKA saaaaailor!

(b) What are you? Recent 26-year old, marketing manager, groupie? Ha!

(c) Why are you? Because birth control made my Mom gain weight, so she quit taking it.

(d) When are you? I am unsure as to what this even means. I AM RIGHT NOW, BABY.

(e) Where are you? The Mecca of culture that is East Tennessee

2. Thoughts and Views

(a) Your favorite literary quote? I am notoriously bad at remembering quotes. I do like that Camus quote talking about an invincible summer�almost anything Lorrie Moore writes is quotable�same with David Sedaris.

(b) Why? Lorrie Moore is brilliant and heartbreaking, David Sedaris is brilliant and hilarious, and the Camus quote just makes me think of that feeling you get at the very beginning of the summer.

(c) Your favorite lyrical quote? Gah. See above. Why did I choose this survey?

(d) Why?

(e) What happens when we die? You either rot in the ground or you get burned up. I would prefer cremation, if anyone is keeping track.

(f) What is your opinion on your current government? Apathy and disgust. With a side of mayo.

(g) Aside from in self-defense, is murder justified in certain situations? If so, which? I am a pacifist, so I�ve got to go with �no� on all counts. However, people that hurt defenseless babies and animals get me pretty pissed.

(h) What is your political stance? Most would peg me a bleeding heart liberal. I try to stay educated on the issues that are most relevant to me so that I can defend myself wisely in arguments.

(i) What is your religious leaning? I was raised Presbyterian (Preacher�s Kids, UNITE!), but I don�t really lean in any specific direction anymore. I go to church twice a year, and I like the music.

3. Everybody Knows...

(a) When would you say you 'grew up' and stopped being a child? In a lot of ways, I haven�t completely grown up. However, having immature parents forced semi-adulthood on me when I was 11.

(b) Did a specific event cause this? Yes. I�ll leave it at that.

(c) Do you think you're fairly well-adjusted in life? I think I�m remarkably well-adjusted, considering.

(d) Would you be willing to take part in a Big Brother style show? There isn�t enough money in the world.

(e) Share one secret: Um, no.

4. How did it come to this?

(a) Describe your current employment/educational status: I have a Bachelor�s Degree in Theatre and Broadcast Journalism, but I work in Marketing. I would really like to go back to school to learn French, but I am having trouble convincing my company to pay for it. They seem to think Spanish would be more valuable. Bah.

(b) Relationship status: Practically common-law.

(c) Financial situation: I make OK money, but have crazy expenses. I hate talking about money.

(d) Physical health: Just OK. Back problems and migraines get me down.

(e) Mental health: Since I went off the crazy-making Birth Control, life�s been grand.

If you�ve read this far, you deserve a cookie! Go ahead, take two.

Aside from all that, we saw A Mighty Wind this weekend, and I liked it. I didn�t love it, but I liked it. A few lines are still cracking me up, and I will probably see it again sometime. One of my bigger gripes is that there was not enough Jennifer Coolidge. She cracks my ass up. I once waited on her, and she is so nice. And a good tipper. Which is more than I can say about David Bowie (sorry, amblus!). That�s another story for another day.

last - next