mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-05-29, 3:38 p.m.:
Super Mega Ultra Double Entry Day!

Yes, this makes a two-for-one entry day, so if you missed the first one, here it is .

When I lived in Slovakia, I quickly realized that you had to carefully measure out the things to do. If you went to the market AND the Internet caf� all in one day, there wouldn�t be much for you to do the next day. Really, there were only about 17 things to do anyway, so you really had to scatter them out if you were going to be living and working there for 6 months, as I did.

Well into my second month, I was seriously craving the familiar, so I tried watching TV. Surprising to no one, Bratislava, Slovakia is not exactly a hotbed of English television. Regardless, I laid in my tiny, hot room and comforted myself in the hypnotic glow that is foreign TV.

Every once in a while, I would be shocked out of a doze by the most Insane Commercial Ever. I�m not sure what the hell they were selling, but I think it was either the secret formula to Cold Fusion, or cereal. Anyway, it featured a man screaming very fast Slovak, interspersed with �ULTRA SUPER MEGA GOOD!� Whatever this was, I still want it. Sigh.

In other News, this morning I managed to get peanut butter all over my knuckles and mascara all over my face. I mean, who eats peanut better toast whilst putting on their makeup? Who?

Also, I found a receipt that I thought I lost, so I will not be paying for renting a truck for a work event ($134.73) out of my pocket. Thank you, ye Gods of Accounts Payable! I owe you one!

One last bit of random, uninteresting trivia�I love my Vet. For real. I now get Pet Insurance through Drinky Drink company (another perk of my kick-ass insurance), and the sweet, dear Office Manager at my Vet is jumping through all of these hoops to get on their provider list so I don�t have to go to this other Vet waaay across town. Isn�t that just so nice? I think I am going to bake her a bundt cake. Or go buy one, let�s be serious here.

last - next