mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-06-10, 3:41 p.m.:

Seriously, dude. FIRED.

Do you remember this girl? The incredibly stupid girl that I pretty consistently stood up for and tried my best to keep her ass hired? Yeah. Fired.

The day before she was leaving for a week�s vacation, she was an hour late to work. An HOUR. And, when I talked to her about it, she had the nerve to get all snarky with me. So, since I didn�t have enough time to write her up (because of stupid HR policies that are incredibly complicated) before she left, I gave her a personal letter from me. The gist of the letter was that while she was gone I wanted her to seriously think about her job and whether it is something she is committed to doing right now. Blah, blah, blah why don�t you quit so I don�t have to fire you? blah.

And then, I didn�t hear from her for over two weeks. She didn�t show up for scheduled shifts (which I wisely covered ahead of time), didn�t return phone calls, nothing. So, I took that as a sign that she was leaving her job, and sent her the standard HR �Notice of Job Abandonment� letter by registered mail.

Now, this girl happens to live fairly close to me, but she�s never been to my house and would have no reason to know where I lived, unless she looked it up (I am in the book, which I am now regretting). So, the day she gets the letter, she turns up on my doorstep. Of course, I get a glimpse of her outside and immediately panic. Seriously, this is how people get shot. �Disgruntled Employee Fatally Shoots Very Hottt Boss�News At 11�

But she didn�t shoot me. She had a whole speech ready for me, something about how she thought I was being �unmanegeriable� (her word) and was treating her unfairly. She also said something about �inhibivitivity�, but I don�t even know what word she was going for there, and I kind of tuned her out to keep from laughing. Gah.

Poor girl. By the time she finished struggling with her big �Fuck You!� speech, I had already completely organized my response and pretty much blew her out of the water. I repeated all of my reasons for firing her, explained again that I have been the only reason she kept this job for so long, and lastly, that it was entirely inappropriate for her to show up at my home. I thanked her for returning her work clothes and wished her well.

I�m so glad she returned her clothes, though. Each of my team members gets a really nice Gore-Tex jacket with a zip-out fleece liner, and I would have hated to lose one. Hi, I�m a cold hearted bitch. With a Gore-Tex jacket, suckers!

And, because I know you are wondering�

I think we might be trying to buy the house. Maybe. Crazy, crazy shit. The weekend was spent freaking out while simultaneously getting really excited about various home improvement projects. I am an enigma wrapped in a mystery, I am. Anyway, the weekend wrap-up goes as follows:

Friday evening:

Went out to eat at Tomato Head. Had wonderful goat cheese & pesto sandwich. We then went next door to Preservation Pub and had a beer, and then home. We had planned to go listen to music later that evening (C convinced me to go see this Metallica cover band, you know, for fun), but we got caught up with watching The Big Lebowski for the millionth time. Then, sleep.

Saturday:

C was playing at a wedding all afternoon, so I did something I am very proud of: I organized. I went through all of my clothes, got rid of stuff, and moved all of my Fall/Winter clothing into the big basement storage closet. Then I organized my closet and drawers. This was completely exhausting. C had another gig that evening, but I didn�t feel like going, preferring instead to watch the bad Carrie remake on TV (I love it, by the way), and eat popcorn for dinner.

Sunday:

Pancakes for breakfast, the tradition around here, and then a really nice hike at through the nature preserve behind our neighborhood with C and Busta Rhymes. Then we ate dinner at my parent�s house before coming home and flopping on the bed with the animals and our books. Good day.

Um, yeah. Nothing really going on here. OH! EXCEPT! I met Third Eye Blind last night. Through my work, I got 4 VIP passes to Star Jam , which actually turned out to be completely cheesy, and hilariously fun. The lead singer of Third Eye Blind was totally chatting me up, which C and our friends Dave and Katy found hilarious. He was pretty much a tool, but you know, whatever.

last - next