mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-07-03, 4:00 p.m.:

Go America, it�s your birthday�

50 cent ain�t got nuthin� on me. Uh.

I�ve never been a big celebrator on the 4th of July. Call me unpatriotic, but big explosions don�t really get me excited. However, now that I have a grown-up (ha?) job, I am digging it. Mostly because it falls on a Friday, so I get a paid vacation day and a 3-day weekend! I won�t be seeing any fireworks, though, if I can help it. Rather, if I have my way, my weekend will go as follows:

Tonight:

Go eat at Tomato Head with C, then walk over to Sundown in the City (a free summer concert series) and listen to our friends Robinella and the CC Stringband play. Oh, and probably drink some beers. Have you ever heard of Robinella? Because they have just released a record on Columbia and we couldn�t be prouder. They are very, very good.

Friday:

If it�s sunny, I want to sit in the backyard and drink mint tea. Maybe get a little tan (with sunscreen, I know, I know). Then take the D.O.G. on a hike at Ijam�s , which is conveniently located behind our neighborhood. After that, we will probably be cajoled into hanging out with my family, which will entail:

� Various grilled meats

� Ice cream

� A boat ride

� Bottle Rockets

Saturday:

Again, I will probably sit in the sun for a bit. Then I will be good and tackle a project we�ve been putting off: spreading Seven Dust (a pretty benign poison) around the perimeter of the yard to hopefully kill off the fleas and ticks that are just chillin� back there. I hate fleas. So does Busta Rhymes. Then we will probably make grilled shrimp tacos since we have all of the stuff for them. Yum.

Sunday:

Make/eat pancakes. Go to the Food Co-op . Buy/read the Sunday New York Times. Lay around and be lazy until C convinces me to help finish cleaning the basement. Bleh. Oh, and practice the guitar, since I have been so, so lame about that since I got it for my birthday.

Wow, that was a very linktastic weekend. I just linked to half of the interesting things about KnoxVegas, so check it out.

In other weird news�

Some crazy entertainment lawyer is obsessed with my boyfriend. More accurately, my boyfriend�s band. Crazy Lawyer has got some record producer in town from Nashville to meet him and everything. It�s probably nothing (I can�t get excited for fear of disappointment), but I�ll keep you posted. If you care.

last - next