mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-09-12, 3:54 p.m.:
Today, I feel like I am on drugs.

Seriously. In my misguided youth (OK, two years ago), I did some drugs. I experimented. It was Europe, then New York! Everything was very accessible!

Anyway, that is behind me, but I remember what it felt like, and I feel that way right now. All jittery and numb and weird. The hell? I have not eaten anything weird, nor have I consumed any more caffeine than I normally do. They must have drugged my slice of onion pizza at Tomato Head. Or the soup I had. That is the only reasonable explanation.

Seriously, I feel WEIRD. Gah.

And my house is so messy that I think simply walking into it shaves minutes off of my life. I brought in some flowers that I just bought and they wilted immediately. Still, instead of chaining myself indoors to clean, clean, clean�I just made plans to go get Indian food with my friend Mary.

What I need to do is have a party. Nothing whips me, and my house, into shape like the impending doom of houseguests. Party.

God, what is wrong with me? What do I need to do?

In other, not scary but good, health news�I�m off the old cigarettes for the moment. Mostly I wanted to prove to a friend of mine that I am not chemically addicted to nicotine, rather I just have a physical addiction. I love how cigarettes give you something to do with your hands. I love taking smoke breaks at conferences. When I was in theatre I started smoking because if you didn�t go out and take a smoke break, you had to stay and do scene work with the director. So I smoked.

Anyway, my friend made a snarky comment, saying that he didn�t think I could not smoke, starting right then (this was Saturday night). So I did. And I haven�t had one since. And I don�t miss it. However, tomorrow I am going to an engagement party with all my smoky friends, so I�m not even going to pretend that I�ve stopped for good. That was more to prove that I can stop if and when I feel like it. I�ve stopped cold turkey for months in the past. I am not a slave to the cigarette! Even now, I smoke less than 5 a week, on average. So don�t worry about me.

I need a sedative.

Weekend!

This weekend should be fun, provided that C gets over this little cold that has reduced him to a sad, �I need apple juice,� mess. We�re going to the engagement party tomorrow, and then the Tennessee Valley Fair on Sunday! Yay! I plan to pet baby goats and other baby livestock, people watch, and eat a funnel cake. We will also buy some candied apples to bring home. Fabulous.

So, that�s it from this peanut gallery. Random item of the day: someone Googled �Dollywood Diaryland�, and found me. Hope I don�t disappoint, because I am certainly not the Dollywood of Diaryland. I don�t know who is, but it�s not me.

Later, taters!

last - next