mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2004-01-22, 7:40 p.m.:

12:16pm

I�m sitting here listening to Robert Plant on Fresh Air, and I�m feeling somewhat pleasant for once. Cue the tree falling on my house, please, because God forbid I�m content for just a minute.

But I�m not bitter, am I?

Anyway, I don�t know if I�ve mentioned my love for Led Zeppelin before, but if not, now is as good a time as any. Led Zeppelin is amazing. I feel so truly sad that I never got to see them in their heyday. Yes, Jimmy Page might have been a drug-addled statutory rapist, but he�s a fucking brilliant musician. And, I think he�s pretty. Shut up.

Also pretty is the aforementioned Robert Plant. No one before and no one since has been able to capture the amazing raw sexuality that he would project on stage. If you haven�t had the pleasure to see the new DVD, Led Zeppelin, you really should. Robert Plant is magnetic.

And I�m sure that some of you (hell, maybe most of you) think that Led Zeppelin is over the top, obnoxious, whatever. You probably also think that Stairway to Heaven was their biggest song. In reality, they were so progressive, and some of their lesser-known music is heartbreakingly beautiful.

They paved the way for heavy metal, for true rock and roll as we know it.

But I digress. No one reads this for my rants on music, but I get so annoyed when people sing the praises of a �band� like The White Stripes, when they don�t even have a bass player. I mean, come on. I guess they are OK, despite the fact that Meg can hardly play the drums and Jack is ass-nasty. But they are hardly a groundbreaking, revolutionary band. Unless the forthcoming revolution means no more bass players. If that is the case, emiloo�s husband better pick up a new hobby. And I better work on that stabbing-forks-in-my-ears project.

If you like The White Stripes, that�s fine. I hold nothing against you in the least. But please, PLEASE don�t leave me a note telling me what I�m missing. Because I�ll just tell you (again) what they are missing. Capiche?

Seriously, I�m moving on. 3:47pm

I�ve been so down the past couple of days. I don�t feel well, my jaw seems to have locked up so I can�t really eat. And it hurts. I just feel like I�m such a big, fat whiny baby lately. And I can�t change it.

However, I did buy myself a spanking new outfit for my pending trip to California. It was way too much money, but that�s what Christmas cash is for, right?

Here it is:

I bought the skirt, cardigan, and camisole. Hell I would have bought shoes if they showed them in the picture. I was weak. However, I got it yesterday, and y�all, it�s cute. So cute that I officially hate the winter. Hate!

Let�s liven things up with a link or two, OK? 5:15pm

BANG!BANG!BANG! Needs audio, and amuses me more than it should.

Disturbing auctions, indeed. Yowza. Maybe not work appropriate? Maybe not life appropriate?

The picture of Everything, and I mean everything.

Why not send this guys mom a postcard? Hmm?

Watch him dance! Oh my. Too funny, but you need the audio to appreciate.

Take it from a gal who has had to act in 2 Satre plays, this shit�s funny.

Ooh, this is fun! No audio, work appropriate, and I got 100%. I am the master!

Morse Code translator. You never know, it could come in handy.

Y�all, that is a shit ton of links, and half of them aren�t even funny. And this may be my most boring entry yet. Ranting about Led Zeppelin? Am I even for real?

last - next