mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2004-03-03, 10:52 p.m.:
I'd like to share with you all the following, a sweet little rant I posted on a message board. The title of the thread is: "How much can you take?"

Before you lose your mind, that is?

In the year and a half since I began this job, my job description has changed considerably. I've gone from managing a small team of 4-6 people, planning and supervising promotional gigs, and researching my market to aide in planning those shifts to managing a team of 12-14, traveling outside of the state at least once a month (for several days), and traveling outside of my market at least once a month (again, for several days).

Now, I've been told that I should spend 6-8 days of every month overnight in a different city in my market. Also, 8 days of the month should be spent in direct observation of my employees (again, out in the field). I have been put in charge of vending for this part of the state, and I have NO IDEA what that entails. I'm supposed to plan a meeting for my employees every week where we do a different planning/motivating activity each time. I am also expected to recruit new employees a minimum of 3-4 times a month. Oh, and I have to work 2 shifts out in the truck with my team.

Paperwork and administration takes up at least one day a week, but realistically 2 (so, 4-8 days a month). I usually have 15-20 emails and 10-15 voicemails to respond to on any given workday. Research (remember, one of the original things I was hired for), is usually done on my own time--evenings or weekends.

Theoretically there are about 20 workdays every month, right? How in the hell and I supposed to do all of this?

Because of the nature of my job I get work related phone calls at all hours of the day, so I never get a break. Ever.

I get tons of paid vacation time, but can rarely take time off because no one does my work while I'm gone. So, if I take a week off I can't relax because I know my life will be hell when I get home.

Every week a new random (meaning usually unrelated to my job) responsibility is heaped on me. I am almost always faced with two choices:

1) Do it all, meaning a 70+ hour work week, continuing mental and physical illness, and no life.

2) Not doing it all, which brings on its own stress because I'm always waiting for someone to figure it out and can my ass.

I know some of you have high stress jobs, so how do you do it? Because lately it's hard for me to do anything but lie in bed and fantasize about quitting. Unfortunately, there are no other jobs that are any more promising.

God, I am so sorry this is so long. It's been a bad day.

That ought to sum up why I haven't been as prompt in my updating. My job (and somewhat, life) has turned hellish. However, thanks to the advice of dear friends (both in life and online), I've decided to actively look for something, anything, else to do.

I want a job that I don't think about when I'm not doing it. I want my evenings and weekends back. I want to be healthy again. The most.

So, if any of you know of some sort of gratifying, creative, extremely low-stress job for little me, please let me know. I have good hair and I can be fun.

last - next