mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-05-15, 5:47 p.m.:
FYI, there is slightly amusing, lighthearted content towards the bottom if you want to skip the blather up top.

Things get a little bit better.

Before I wrap up the family drama and put it back into cold storage, I have to give a wee bit more background. A lot of the trouble yesterday sprang from my mother telling me that one of her friends called her and told her that C.�s mom was telling a bunch of people at a party that she worries that C. will never �support me in the lifestyle I am accustomed to� (best run-on evah!). Of course, my mother made an already bad situation worse by going into detail on the subject. So, C. calls his mother, who is mortified to tell him that it was actually my mother�s friend that did all of the talking on that subject, and furthermore she said some rather unflattering things about my family. So, I email my mother with this:

Subject: Clarification

C. just got off the phone with his mother, and I think I should let you know about the way that conversation that J. had with his mother actually went. In reality, J. was very drunk and rambling on and on to C.�s Mom and her friend about our family and our financial situation. J. was the one that brought up that C. might not "support" me that way I am "accustomed to" (which would be what, exactly?). C.�s Mom (and her friend) were mortified, as they never wanted to know any of this, and avoided J. for the rest of the night. They also decided to never speak of the incident again.

I just thought you should know. C.�s Mom would never say such a thing about her own son, she loves him and supports him in whatever he does. So, don't always believe everything you hear.

I went on a little further, but this has gotten verbose as it is.

My mother wrote me back, whining that she hates that I�m mad at her. She also goes on to tell me that she and my Dad got into a huge argument over the whole incident, because he (my dad) thinks I can take care of myself and she (my mom) needs to get a life. So, at least I�ve got Dad.

On to happier news. Except, um, a tornado. But, OH! Shopping!

Effing TORNADO! Outside! And here I am, diligently updating. I am listening to the panicked news radio anchor, and he is giving me the play-by-play, so that if need be I can grab the animals and head to our Basement Of Safety.

And, gah, do tornados ever make C. cranky. He�s so effing pissed off at the weather. Fuck you, hail! Bite me, rain! Tornado, you blow! Hardehardeharharhar.

Whoops, there goes the electricity! Must go eat an ice cream sandwich. They can�t go to waste! Anyway, they are the delicious Skinny Cow brand, and therefore 98% fat free and 110% deeelicious. Yum.

Too bad the freaking electricity bailed, because we just spent almost $100 at the grocery store. I woke up this morning and realized we had no food. Nothing. No milk, eggs, coffee, bread, butter, fruit, vegetables, or cheese. I made a half-assed smoothie, then declared that today was, in fact grocery day. It was also Lowe�s Home Improvement Warehouse day, much to my delight. I bought a bunch of Gerbera Daisies, and we got some fencing to enclose the back of our yard so that Busta Rhymes can roam free. It�s stupid that it is fenced on three sides, but not across the back. Stupid, stupid.

Let�s talk TV.

I love me some West Wing. I keep on trying to engage complete strangers in discussion about the show. I have discovered that Martin Sheen brings out a rather hideous side of Southern Conservatives. Back away slowly from the man buying the Roto-Tiller, folks. He has issues with the leftist media. Bah.

Anyway, The West Wing was just great last night. Toby just kills me. And I want to be friends with Will Baily. The guy that plays him was on Jeopardy a couple of weeks ago and he just kicked major ass. You can tell that he is actually a smart guy, rather than just playing one on TV.

Moving on, I am kind of excited to watch Friends tonight. Hee? I know, such a dorky loser, but it�s Armageddon outside and I live for life�s little pleasures. But the freaking power needs to come on first.

Time to go eat some more�whatever! It mustn't spoil!

last - next