mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-05-27, 10:43 a.m.:
What happened last week: a Recap

Monday, May 19th (evening):

Ate a load of shrimp, corn, and potatoes. Had a few drinks at a work function. Got very, very ill.

Tuesday, May 20th:

Woke up after throwing up all night. Was still throwing up. Had nasty broken capillaries around my eyes. Went to Doctor. Found out that I have a strange allergy to seafood that is aggravated by alcohol. Was told that at this point, I just have to let the blood toxins work their way out of my body. Ate pudding and French fries. Felt awful.

Wednesday, May 21st:

Woke up still feeling pathetic, but drove to Nashville for a meeting regardless. Ate a disgusting Sausage Biscuit at McDonalds�this was the only think I would keep down all day, amazingly. Arrived at meeting, participated in Champagne toast for one of my co-workers that got engaged, threw up. Picked at a salad for lunch, threw up. Ate a few bites of steak and potatoes at a painfully delicious restaurant, and I had different stomache issues that a lady doesn�t discuss. But trust me, you don�t want to be having these issues in a teeny restaurant bathroom three hours away from home.

Got back to my very nice hotel, passed out at 10pm.

Thursday, May 22nd:

Woke up feeling a little less awful. Drove to downtown Nashville to visit emiloo at her work. Marveled at how beautiful her �lieberry� is. Ate a very good cherry croissant and didn�t get sick! Drove home a bit depressed that a) So many of my friends live too far away, b) Knoxville will never get it�s head out of it�s ass for long enough to build a gorgeous Library such as the one Emiloo works in. Ugh.

Thursday evening, I don�t remember, except that my stomache was bothering me again, and so I ate some more French fries and a strawberry milkshake (an effort at protein). Isn�t it odd what your stomache craves when you are sick?

Friday, May 23rd:

Got all of my work done by 3:30 for the long weekend. Actually ate a small turkey sandwich for lunch, and some steak, corn, and potato for dinner. I swear we don�t eat the same things over and over, these have just been the only things I can stomache lately. On the current bad list is:

Shrimp (but really any seafood, which breaks my heart and I need to get over it)

Raw vegetables of any kind (especially salad)

Most cooked vegetables as well

And it�s growing every day. Unfortunately I kind of used to live on seafood and veggies so I�m down about this as well.

Saturday, May 24th:

I feel OK! Ate another turkey sandwich for lunch, this time with some cherries and a few chips. Still feel a little wonky, but OK. Had delicious vegetable-y pasta dish for dinner, and I didn�t die. Even had a glass of wine. All was good.

Went to C.�s show that night, and the crowd was so lame that light could not escape from them. Spent the evening avoiding most of the men there.

Sunday, May 25th:

Went to the grocery to use the Coinstar machine to cash in a mess of change. Turned out to be $37.95 worth! Hot damn!

Proceeded to lie around the house and yard, reading books and being horribly lazy. I did none of the projects I had planned to do. This left only Monday, really.

Monday, May 26th:

But today is Memorial Day! So instead of doing much of anything, we slept in, made pancakes, and went to the store to get fixings for the wee party we were invited to. Went to said party, drank a couple beers, ate more meat (I�m about over this), and played the Friends trivia game, which sucked in its complicatedness, but I still won. Probably because I was the only one even close to being sober enough to understand the rules.

Today:

I have a true metric assload of work to do, so not much to comment on as of yet. I would like to say a short �Happy Anniversary� to C. It gets better every year.

Adios, muchachos!

last - next