mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-06-06, 1:23 p.m.:
Freak Out! Le Freak, c�est chic

Where to begin with this freak out entry? Perhaps with the fact that our landlords want to sell our house? To us? Like, soon?

OHGODOHGODOHGOD.

So, we�re freaking out a little bit. Two months ago we were having a friendly chat on our front porch with our landlords (the chat that led to them lowering our rent ), when some idiot asked if they would ever want to sell the house. Turns out, they had thought about selling the house, and they had always assumed that we would want first dibs on it. We assured then that when the time came we would be most interested. Thinking, of course, that this would be at least a couple of years down the road.

Ha, ha! Fuck you, mayapple!

C and I were both in the backyard puttering around the other day when Freddie, the female half of our aged landlord duo, pulls up next to us. She says, very matter-of-factly, �OK, we�re ready to sell the house. The price we�ve come up with is $________ (insert more money than I�ll ever have). Let us know when you�re ready.

Choke. Gasp. Wheeze.

Sorry, reliving the moment.

C has a year and a half left of school. I have debts, and make OK money, but not enough to actually buy a fucking house. But we luuurve the neighborhood. And I love the house. Too much for words.

I talked to my Dad about the whole thing (because he is a Financial Advisor, and works with me for free out of love), and he pretty much dismissed me with a �You don�t need to be buying a house with your boyfriend and for that matter I still don�t like that you two are living in sin and just when do you think you might be getting married or at least engaged little missy?�

He packs a lot into �I really don�t think that is wise for you right now, Mayapple,� doesn�t he?

But today he calls me, and he�s obviously been thinking about it since we last talked. He knows that I live in a kick-ass neighborhood, and that the price we�ve been given is very, very reasonable. He�s looked into property taxes. He sent me a mortgage calculator. He thinks that either we (my Dad and I) should either buy the house together, or that he should co-sign a loan with me.

I think he�s gone stark raving mad, but I want to buy the house, so I�ll shut up.

I did the mortgage calculator, and found out that the house payments would be about what our rent is. Doable. Property taxes and Homeowners Insurance would hike it up, but it would still be less than our rent was before it was lowered. This might actually happen. I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

In other boring news�

Before all of the house madness happened, I was seriously thinking of buying a new car. I�ve never, ever had one, and I have a good job, and I want one, so there. C was going to buy the Subaru from me, and I was going to use his Civic for a trade. I was either going to get a Honda Element (maybe in the nice pumpkin color), or a Mini Cooper (in Burgundy). Yes, I am serious. I was shopping around, and I knew that I either wanted a small SUV with good gas mileage and low emissions, under $20,000 (hence, the adorable Element), OR a small, sporty car with great gas mileage, under $20,000 (hence, the mega adorable Mini).

However, now that The House is looming over us, I think I should just hold onto my Outback, which is paid for and does the trick for now. Harrumph.

And finally, the weekend!

My weekend does not hold a lot of entertaining activities, as of right now. The highlights will be:

*Perhaps going out to dinner tonight

*Maybe grilling some meats tomorrow night

*Moving my winter clothes down into our basement room

*Buying and planting tomato and basil plants. What other veggies/herbs should I plant? Leave me a note with ideas!

Also, I am going to take pictures of the house this weekend, so you all can see what all of the fuss is about. It�s super cute. Have a groovetastic weekend! What?

last - next