mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-07-24, 4:55 p.m.:
Yo, yo, yo!

Today in place of your normally scheduled entry, I give you a bunch of whiny crap, a couple of links, and a recipe. OK? So you�ve been warned.

Whiny Crap.

I like the way �crap� looks capitalized. Crap. It�s official.

Today I had to unload 144 cases of Drinky-Drink all alone. In the raging hot sun (why is the sun so angry?). Alone. My back, arms, and everything else hurt. Why did I have to do this? Because the shipment came 2 hours late and there was no one to help me, because I had scheduled them to be somewhere else by then. Sucks ass, my friends, sucks ass indeed.

A Couple Of Links.

This site is for emiloo�s husband (who�s name is NOT Sean, don�t let anyone convince you that it is). However, anyone that hates their job (I�m looking at you, amblus), should check it out. I recommend the kiss off quiz. It told me that I shouldn�t quit my job because, even though it might annoy me sometimes, I�m relatively happy. Spot on.

Pictures of pets with their heads in plastic bags, link courtesy of smartypants. Funny stuff, people.

A Recipe

In honor* of the hot, hot summer I give you the recipe to some kick-ass pasta salad. I can�t remember who I got his from, so if it was you, thanks! It�s quite delicious!

Delicious Pasta Salad

For the dressing�

2 Tbs. olive oil

1/2 C. sundried tomatoes

1/4 C. red wine vinegar

2 Tbs. capers

2 cloves garlic

Put all of these in the blender and blend until smooth.

For the salad�

1 lb. cooked pasta (I use bowties)

1 lb. ripe roma tomatoes (heirloom tomatoes are the bomb)

1/2 lb. fresh mozzerella, cut into a small dice

1 small bunch fresh basil, cut into thin strips (chiffonade)

1/2 C. finely grated parmesan (the good stuff)

1/4 C. olives, chopped finely (I prefer kalatmata or niscoise)

1/2 C. oil packed artichoke hearts

1 C. blanched asparagus tips

toss all the ingredients and chill.

*A guy I dated in college was in a particularly obnoxious fraternity, and they had this horrible toast that the president gave every Christmas. It went:

�To honor!

And gettin� honor!

And if you get off her�

Get back honor!�

Or something like that. Honestly, I was drunk.

last - next