mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-08-21, 9:44 p.m.:

A quickie, but I must ask...

What would you think of this: you send out a mass email to everyone in your ancient (5+ years old) email address book. This email is short and sweet, meant to inform everyone of an upcoming email change. Many of the people on the list you no longer keep in touch with, not on purpose, so you don't bother removing their address from the mass email.

After sending the email, you get a response from one of the long-lost folks. This particular one is a girl you not only fell out of touch with, she had a little hissy-fit about it when you did.

Her response?

TEST.

That's it, folks.

What does that mean? Is she "testing" me to see if I'll write back? Because if that is what she is doing, I won't. Because that is

CRAZY.

Maybe that's the email I should send her.

Because I got high...

I just got back from the grocery store, where I bought:

whole wheat hamburger buns

whole wheat bread

blueberry jam

lemon popsicles

mini ice cream sandwhiches

dried apples

Vanity Fair magazine (Prince William--YUM)

Candy Corn

cantaloupe

whipping cream

half and half

cottage cheese

CARBS and DAIRY! It's going to be a wild night here in lactose-intolerant-irritable-bowel-land!

Now that's a ride you'll never see at Disney.

Honestly, I think the check-out lady thought I was high. I almost think I am high. But I'm not, no. In fact, I am nearly sure my illegal drug purchasing/doing days are over. I have no idea why I bought all of that, though. I went for dried apples, whipping cream, and half and half. I'm making ice cream tomorrow, and the apples are for snacktime. I am seven.

Yep, tomorrow I am adding more dairy to my life. Should be a blast.

(Rah!) (Rah!) (Go Team!)

I live right down the street from the Tennessee School for the Deaf, a pretty massive institution. It looks not unlike a college campus back there, most of the students live there--it's pretty major. Anyway, tonight they had a football game, and I've got to tell you, it was the quietest game ever. I walked by and watched a bit of it, and it was really cool. Sometimes I watch them practice as well, and the coaches use this huge drum that lays down on the field. Pretty neat. It is really nice having a deaf school down the street. Not only are the kids that attend obviously pretty quiet, they are overall the nicest, most polite group of students ever.

Currently Reading:

Finished re-reading Tender at the Bone, so I decided to re-read the sequel, Comfort Me With Apples. It isn't as good. In fact, it makes me really dislike Ruth Reichl as a person.

So, today I was naughty and I went and bought two brand-spanking-new books, The Art of Eating by M.F.K. Fisher, and The Man Who Ate Everything by Jeffery Steingarten. I have been wanting to read both for a long time, so I am giddily excited. I love well-written food writing. Yay!

Off to eat a mini ice cream sandwich!

last - next