mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2003-09-02, 2:04 p.m.:
Weekend, Schmeekend.

My weekend...yeah. I kind of had secret high hopes for this weekend, and while it wasn�t a total bust, it wasn�t nearly as enjoyable as I thought it would be. That mostly has to do with me sinking into a PMS-induced (I�ll admit it) funk that I am still slightly mired in. I�m getting over it, though. Slowly.

Friday evening, I did nothing. C worked late, I lazed around. I read. I ate snacky things for dinner. I dozed on the couch with the dog. C came home so exhausted that we just went straight to bed.

Saturday, I did mostly nothing all day long, expect make dinner, which was quite good. Rainbow Trout, roasted potatoes, asparagus, and freaking homemade cherry ice cream. Good. We had to pretty much wolf it down, though, which was not good. But I had to drop C off at the bar so he could set up/do sound check, then I went to meet up with a few friends for drinks before C�s show. I made the mistake of drinking red wine sangria, which was delicious, but made me red-faced and hot for the rest of the evening. C�s show was fun, just your standard loud, hot, rock show. Good times.

On Sunday I began my slide into the funk. Oh, it was not good. I started to get really, irrationally mad at the kitchen for being dirty. And the kitty litter for needing changing (as well as somehow weighing 50 pounds�what are we feeding this guy?). My laundry, my office, my job (for no real reason)�all making me MAD. Actually, I had a reason for being a little mad about my job. My boss decided that our monthly reports were due by this morning at 8am. Why this morning? Because he �didn�t want to work this weekend.� Ha. Funny, because making our end of the month reports (which can�t be started in earnest until the month is actually over) due this morning pretty much means that I had to work on it on Monday. The holiday. The day my bastardo boss didn�t want to work.

He�s really not that bad. He�s just clueless.

So, as you can assume, Monday was not so much fun, either. My mood went from bad to worse. When I get in moods like that, I get almost phobic about talking to anyone.

Actually, though, Monday evening was nice. C got home from work (his job SUCKS) relatively early, and our friend Steven came over. Stephen has a sweet Golden Retriever named Tucker, and he and Busta are big friends. The humans sat around and drank beer and shot the shit, and the animals made crazy in the backyard. Nice stuff.

There is more to talk abut, but this has already gotten self-absorbed and boring enough. I have some health issues bugging me. Nothing serious, just annoying. Instead of talking about that, I give you things that are infinitely more interesting:

Das Links!

Ben and Jerry�s flavor graveyard: Mourn the dead.

But, OH! So pretty: Please, buy me these shoes. Really.

Write an email to your future self. It�s fun! Thanks to evany for the link: Mine was about laziness.

Hi, I�m Beyonce Knowles, and I eat tomato and cucumber for lunch. That�s it.

Ooooh, that smell! Actually, a pretty interesting article about smell. Women are turned on my licorice and cucumber. Cucumber I can see, but Good n� Plenty? Really?

Oh GOD! Hats of Meat.

Currently Reading:

M.F.K. Fischer�s The Art of Eating. It�s pretty good so far. It�s her first work, and it was published quite a long time ago. I have a feeling I would like some of her newer work a little more, but I�m still enjoying it.

I finished Jeffrey Steingarten�s The Man Who Ate Everything, and I loved it. I love how he geeks out and breaks everything down to a scientific level. I also love his compulsive drive to get things perfect, even if it means making 20 pies, or tasting 30 ketchups. It�s a fun book, and now I want his newest one, It Must Have Been Something I Ate.

Edited to add: I think I fixed all the problems with the links, but let me know if they're still acting up. Goddamned HTML bastard.

last - next