mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2004-01-20, 12:32 p.m.:

The Past Three Months, in a Nutshell (or, Where The Hell Have You Been?).

Hello. Assuming that I still have a reader or two (that�s the danger in not updating�losing your readers), I want to explain.

Actually, there�s no real excuse. Nothing interesting, at least. So, I�m going to touch on my last entry, because a lot has changed, and other things, not so much.

First off, the sicky.

When last I left you, I had been battling a cold. The cold has come and gone (as well as a few of its friends), but illness prevails. I�ve been veritably plagued by a nasty vertigo-like affliction that also triggers migraines of some sort. It�s like this: driving on a windy road, bending over a lot, or moving around too quickly in general = nausea, weakness, and a mini-migraine. The only cure thus far has been a combination of meds that leaves me out of it and groggy. Fun!

I�ve been averaging one doctor�s visit a week for a while now, and still no idea what�s up. It could be:

� A heart problem

� A brain problem

� An inner ear problem (although they have ruled this one out)

� A food allergy (the hell?)

� Any combination of the above

� None of the above

So that�s been fun.

A minute of excruciatingly boring work talk.

My job is still kicking my ass. Remember when I first started this diary, how I used to brag about how I hardly worked, blah, blah, blah? Ha!

Don�t get me wrong, I know I�m lucky to have this job. I am just so tired of feeling like I can never, ever do enough. I can be working 60 hours a week, killing myself over this, and still, in the back of my mind, I�m thinking, �I�m not doing enough. I need to be doing more. I�m inadequate. How have I not yet been fired?� The feeling usually passes, thank god, but it�s still present.

I guess it would be one thing if I made oodles of money or something, but I don�t. I have great benefits, like tons of paid vacation time, but absolutely no time to take a vacation. In February, I�m set to go to LA and New York. In March, I would like to take a trip to the beach, but that�s not likely. In April, it�s back to Miami for a week. And so on and so forth.

God, I am boring myself to tears. Moving on.

The House. Le Sigh.

We aren�t getting the house. At the last minute (literally), our landlords decided not to sell. The disappointment is still overwhelming, so I think I might just skip ahead, OK? OK.

The Part Where I Move On.

So, I�ve missed this. I know better than to make wild promises�two entries a day, swear! �but I want to be better about updating. It helps tremendously to get these things down, and I love hearing what people having to say about the more mundane aspects of my life. Before I forget, thank you to those of you who pestered me to update. I�m sorry I didn�t do it sooner. And, amblus, I�m not only bringing you flowers tonight, baby. Aw, yeah.

I will also try to bring back the funny, because damn, I�m dull. No links, nothing.

Currently Reading:

I need to get to the bookstore, y�all. I just re-read Why Girls Are Weird, and of course loved it. Before that, I read:

Cooking For Mr. Latte, by Amanda Hesser. A friend (thanks, L.!) told me to give this book a try, and I�m glad I did. It was cute, and I honestly can�t wait to make some of the recipes. Give yourself a break and read a sweet little book that doubles as a cookbook. Two, two, two books in one!

Waiting, by Debra Ginsberg. I wanted to love this book. I wanted it to be Kitchen Confidential for the front of the house set, but it wasn�t. Don�t get me wrong, I liked it enough, but I won�t reread it (the sign that I loved something), and I�ll probably sell it at the used bookstore. It was OK.

Running With Scissors, by Augusten Burroughs. Hm. I don�t even know what to say. I finished it yesterday, and I don�t know whether it was horrible and disturbing, or great and disturbing. Since I feel the need to read the sequel, Dry, I�m going with great and disturbing. For now.

Currently Listening:

I still unabashedly love Outcast�s Speakerboxxx/The Love Below. I am also enjoying Jet. Not too much to say about that.

So, yeah. I�ll be back and stuff. Happy New Year!

last - next