mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2004-01-27, 6:57 p.m.:

Somebody better call the WAAAAAH-mbulance.

Sigh. More whining coming your way, folks. Nothing I can do about it.

A dear friend of mine just called to tell me that she got an extremely hefty raise. I mean hefty�to the tune of 20 grand. And I�m so jealous. She works hard, and deserves every penny I�m sure, but still. Wah. I make OK money, and I�ve certainly never placed money at a high priority before, but I�m jealous. I want to be able to take more time off, to shop at places other than TJMaxx and not feel guilty about it (I still love you, TJMaxx! BFF!), and travel. Travel! Do you know that I traveled far more when I was a �poor college student� than I ever do as an adult? And no, business travel doesn�t count. It doesn�t.

When I was in college, I would sock away as much as possible, including Christmas and birthday money, so that I could go to Europe. I managed to go three different summers, and the last one I was actually living and working in one place. I was completely poor, but I made it happen.

Now? Now I make a goodly amount of money (not too much, though). I�m paying off debts, restoring my credit. I get 4 weeks of paid vacation a year (that can roll over up to 6 weeks total). And I go nowhere unless it�s for my job. Bah.

I try to not be jealous. I am thankful for all of my blessings�a boyfriend who I love and who loves me, a job with good benefits, a family that only makes me crazy some of the time, a cute house, sweet pets, good friends�.who needs Europe?

Of course, luxolive isn�t helping. Damn you, woman!

Seriously? Again with the moving on?

I got this from a non-diaryland journal written by a friend of mine. I haven�t bored anyone with a survey lately, so let�s do this thing.

1) have you ever had a song written about you? yep

2) what song makes you cry? Strangely, "So Long, Marianne", Leonard Cohen, which is also a song that makes my friend M. cry.

3) what song makes you happy? �Corcazon� by Antonio Carlos Jobim

4) what do you like to listen to before bed? Russell Malone

appearance

height: 5'8"

hair color: very dark brown (some say black, but I don�t buy it)

skin color: I don�t know? Tan-ish?

eye color: brownish green

piercings: ears only, but I never wear earrings

tattoos: none

right now

what color pants are you wearing?: dark blue

what are you listening to?: C. watching �The Two Towers�; Buster chewing on his rope toy

what taste is in your mouth?: not much of anything other than a faint mucous-y taste. Lovely.

what's the weather like?: grey, windy, very cold

how are you?: congested

get motion sickness?: lately I have, but never before

have a bad habit?: a couple

get along with your parents?: almost all of the time

like to drive?: if it�s nice out and the scenery/company is enjoyable

tv show: The OC

conditioner: Aveda Cherry Almond Bark

book: Sellevision

non alcoholic drink: water

alcoholic drink: red wine, good beer, cheap beer

thing to do on the weekend: make pancakes, go junk shopping, watch movies

have you

broken the law: certainly

run away from home: when I was small,I only made it to the edge of our back yard

snuck out of the house: oh God, all of the time in middle school

ever gone skinny dipping: yes

made a prank phone call: not since caller ID was invented, but yes

ever tipped over a porta potty: That�s disgusting. No.

used your parents' credit card before: with their permission only

skipped school before: sure

fell asleep in the shower/bath: no, but I passed out once. Fun.

been in a school play: lots. This was what I was all about for a while.

random

do you have a job: yep.

your cd player has in it right now: it�s empty, strangley. I turned on NPR.

if you were a crayon what color would you be?: a pumpkin-y orange color, like my car

what makes you happy: My best friend and boyfriend, C., Buster and Owen, my friends, nice weather

who makes you happiest: Aw. Tie between C. and Buster.

what's the next cd you're gonna get?: I need to replace Surfer Rosa, so that�s at the top of my list

when / what was the last

time you cried: last Friday

you got a real letter?: A couple of weeks ago

you got e-mail: this morning

thing you purchased: Indian food, last night

tv program you watched: Average Joe

movie you saw in the theater: The Return of the King

last - next