mayapple
archives
newest
email
profile
notes
design
diaryland
2004-12-28, 11:47 p.m.:
The year is almost over, and damn if I didn't find myself missing this little habit. I stole Sundry's year-end survey, and since I have a whole passle of big news to catch you up on, I'll be back more often, for real.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Oh man, I got engaged and bought a house. That�s a lot, don�t you think? Maybe I don�t need to do anything new next year. Except I will get married, so DAMN. Foiled again.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don�t think I made any last year, did I? I guess I would like to update here more, since I miss it and I miss having a running commentary on my own boring life. I would also like to lose a bit of weight so that the �all fat and wide� doesn�t apply to my wedding march.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

A couple of friends, and Chris� sister gave birth to my first future nephew! He is an adorable, edible biscuit.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My best friend�s mother, one of Chris� friends mothers, a lost friend from high school, and one of Chris� friends. Not a great year where this was concerned. Chris� friend fell off of window washing scaffolding, and no one has been able to get over how awful it was.

5. What countries did you visit?

I pretty much stayed in the states, which is embarrassing considering I used to travel so much. I went to Hawaii for work, which so far away it should be another country, really.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Discipline and motivation.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

When I found out about my friend�s mom dying, and the day we closed on the house (which was also the day Chris proposed)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I guess not quitting my job showed some restraint on my part. But really, even though I am a freaking broken record, I can�t believe I was able to scrape together the money to get this awesome house without any help.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I�ve really let some friendships go to crap, and it is completely my fault.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I�ve had some heart wonkiness, but it seems to be OK for now.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Ha, do you think I�ll say the house?

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Chris�. He�s been a freaking saint this year.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I am saddened by our government�s decisions, of course. And I really am heartbroken by some of the ignorance and hatefulness I�ve seen within my profession.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Mortgage, dude. Mortgage.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I almost threw up when Chris proposed (in a good way, of course). I was stoked to get a wee tiny digital camera for Christmas. When Snoop Dogg played at my office Christmas party, that threw me for a loop.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

Anything by the Features or Franz Ferdinand. Or Modest Mouse�s �Float On�.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? Happier about some things (my relationship, my family, my living situation), sadder about others (how sad my best friend is, how much I truly hate my job, how I�ve effed up some of the few friendships I have)

b) thinner or fatter? Maybe 3-5 pounds more, and softer for sure. Bah.

c) richer or poorer? In non-monetary ways, richer. But because of the house and pending nuptials, poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Moved around (as in exercised), and kept up with friends

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Moping about things that I can�t changed or am not making an effort to change them.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I�m late here�I spent it with my family, and it was great. Now I am at the beach, which is unseasonably chilly, but still not work and warmer than home.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Only more in love with Chris and the dog.

22. How many one-night stands?

I�m too old for that shit.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

I can�t help falling in love with you, Desperate Housewives.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I really can�t stand someone I only was moderately annoyed by last year, if that counts.

25. What was the best book you read?

The Anti-Bride Guide. It was a gift, and actually helpful, OK?

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Ooh. I had only seen them live, but The Features rock so hard on their new CD that I discovered new love for them. Also, Franz Ferdinand.

27. What did you want and get?

A shiny, pretty, antique ring. A sweet house. A digital camera.

28. What did you want and not get?

A new job and a sack of money.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

Napoleon Dynamite, by a mile.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Last May, I turned 27, and it was pretty anticlimactic, which I didn�t mind. I think we had drinks, and Chris bought me a mountain bike. Oh! And we went to the beach the day after. That was awesome.

31.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If I had my shit together a bit more.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

I�ve felt pretty damn good about my style this year. I like to hope I am in style and unique, but never trendy. I have also managed to buy fewer things of a much higher quality, rather than gorging on crapola.

33. What kept you sane?
S
ometimes I don�t know. The friends that I keep up with online are lifesavers, and Emiloo in particular has been radical.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Oh my, I don�t know! Errrr�20 names just leapt through my head. I do love Mr. Johnny Depp, though.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?

I have never been so passionate and involved with a Presidential Campaign before. It was intoxicating to be informed, it just made it suck so much worse when we lost.

36. Who did you miss?

I miss my friend A., who lives way over the ocean. I miss her every day.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

I don�t know? Did I meet any new people? That is sad.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.

That my bullshit will catch up with me, and that I bring half of my unhappiness on myself.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Oh, I�m no good at that. From The Features:

�You turn me on to the idea of growing old��

last - next